Photography-Tamron 70-300 mm VC first clicks


So on the day of my little princess’ birth, I received the much awaited Tamron 70-300 mm VC model. Since I was caught up with my baby, I couldn’t go out to test it out on the field.

Yesterday i had some time off and so I decided to head-off to Sulur lake,Coimbatore as suggested by my friend Nikhil. I wanted to click a few birds as that was one of the main reason I bought this lens. So it was about 30 minute ride to the lake which had a boating facility too. I decided to walk around it so i could spend more time near the trees.

As soon as I walked a few metres I saw a cormorant and an Indian pond Heron. After a few snaps of the Cormorant, I saw something blue fly just over the waters. As my heart raced wishing it to be a kingfisher, I traced the bird as it went and perched on a tree. And as i had thought, it WAS a kingfisher. This one was quite a poser, so I was able to get to a decent distance without startling it. It was pure luck that I could snap a pic of the bird which I always wanted to even before buying this lens. That too on the first day.

Common kingfisher

Common Kingfisher

White throated Kingfisher

White throated Kingfisher

As I walked further, I spotted a few more birds and after sometime, as the light started becoming bad, I decided to head back.

The Tamron 70-300 VC is definitely not for serious birders. But for amateurs, it’s a great lens to get that extra zoom. Have not tried taking pics of any animals, but given its capacity to zoom in on birds as small as the sun bird from quite a considerable distance, am guessing that it should do well. Overall, the Tamron is a good lens for starters like me who want to take pictures of birds, given that they are not too far. Below are some of the clicks from the lens.  A big thanks to Saminathan Babu anna for helping me identify the birds.

Indian Pond Heron

Indian Pond Heron

Asian Brown Flycatcher

Asian Brown Flycatcher

Pale Billed Flowerpecker

Pale Billed Flowerpecker

 

Little Egret

Little Egret

Will be uploading more pics on my facebook.Keep posted..:)

you are welcome to comment :)

